The C40 Cities Bloomberg Philanthropies Awards are granted in seven categories and provide global recognition for cities that are demonstrating climate action leadership.

The 2017 C40 Cities Bloomberg Philanthropies Awards are selected by an independent Jury Panel.

DAVID MILLER (Jury Chair), North American Regional Director and Ambassador for Inclusive Climate Action at C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group, Former Mayor of Toronto & Former C40 Chair

ANTHA WILLIAMS, Environment Programme Lead, Bloomberg Philanthropies

ROMAIN LACOMBE, Founder and CEO, Plume Labs  

AKEL BILTAJI, Former Mayor of Amman

DIANE REGAS, Executive Director, Environmental Defense Fund

KEVIN MO, Managing Director, The Paulson Institute Representative Office

The full biographies of the 2017 panel are available here.


Throughout the world, mayors deliver important, impactful, and innovative policies and programmes that reduce carbon pollution and improve resilience. Since 2013, C40 has recognised more than 40 of the world’s boldest projects, highlighting the critical role cities play as a leading force for climate action.


The sixth edition of the C40 Cities Bloomberg Philanthropies Awards will focus on projects that demonstrate ambitious climate action while ensuring better, longer lives for the greatest number of people. Each of the seven category will represent The Future We Want.


The 2019 winners will be announced in Copenhagen on 10 October at the C40 World Mayors Summit.



The Awards recognise cities that have implemented outstanding projects, programmes, policies and practices to combat climate change and reduce climate risks in the fields of 5 categories:

The Cities4Energy category features excellence in building energy efficiency and clean energy.


The Cities4Mobility category features excellence in sustainable transportation.  


The Cities4ZeroWaste category features excellence in reducing waste.


The Cities4Action category features the most ambitious city-wide action plans. 


The Cities4Tomorrow category features the most ambitious adaptation plans and programmes. 


Explore the 2017 Awards Categories.

The 2016 C40 Cities Awards took place at Palacio de Minería, in Mexico City recognising 10 leading climate change projects and programmes. Watch the 2016 highlights below.

2016 C40 Awards Winners:

  • Addis Ababa (Transportation) - Addis Ababa Light Rail Transit Project
  • Copenhagen (Adaptation in Action) - Copenhagen's Cloudburst Management Plan - Project Implementation
  • Curitiba (Sustainable Communities) - Urban Agriculture in Curitiba
  • Kolkata (Solid Waste) - Kolkata Solid Waste Management Improvement Project (KSWMIP)
  • Sydney & Melbourne (Building Energy Efficiency) - CitySwitch Green Office
  • Paris (Adaptation Plans & Assessments): Paris Adaptation Strategy: Towards a more resilient city
  • Portland (Climate Action Plans & Inventories) - 2015 Climate Action Plan (CAP)
  • Seoul (Social Equity & Climate Change) - Energy Welfare Public-Private Partnership (PPP) Programme
  • Shenzhen (Finance & Economic Development) - Shenzhen Emissions Trading System
  • Yokohama (Clean Energy) - Yokohama Smart City Project

2017 EVENT

The winners of the of the C40 Cities Bloomberg Philanthropies Awards will be announced in Chicago in December, at a private event held alongside the City of Chicago’s Climate Summit. Learn more about the event here

© City of Chicago


The fifth-annual C40 Cities Bloomberg Philanthropies Awards celebrated the most ambitious and innovative efforts by mayors of the world’s great cities to tackle climate change. The winners were announced in Chicago, at the North American Climate Summit.


The Awards honor 10 sustainability projects from around the globe that represent the most ambitious and innovative efforts taken by mayors to shape the future. Given the increasingly important role U.S. cities must play in driving climate action, this year each of the five award categories has one winner from a U.S. city and one winner from elsewhere in the world.


Learn more about the winners here.


2019 Awards

This year, the C40 Bloomberg Philanthropies Awards showcase projects that demonstrate ambitious climate action while ensuring better, longer lives for the greatest number of people. The winning projects have been chosen for the concrete impact they are making in their communities, and are formidable examples of what leadership looks like in building an innovative, resilient and inclusive future.


2017 Awards

This year marks the fifth annual 2017 C40 Cities Awards ceremony –– as always, we will plan to share the great work of our cities to develop, share and expand 'best practices' across the globe. Keep an eye out for more on the 25 cities leading on climate, and stay tuned this December 5th. The ceremony will take place in Chicago, coinciding with the first ever North American Climate Summit.

2016 Awards

The 2016 C40 Cities Awards showcased once again highly replicable ‘best practices’ across cities and draw attention to the outstanding performances that have achieved a high level of environmental success in a challenging context. The Awards Ceremony will took place in Mexico City, to coincide with the C40 Mayors Summit.

2015 Awards

The 2015 C40 Cities Awards took place during the pivotal COP21 meeting in Paris, and were successful in sharing highly replicable ‘best practices’ across cities, while drawing attention to outstanding performances that have achieved a high level of environmental success in a challenging context. The Winners were announced at the Awards Ceremony on 3rd December in Paris, France.

2014 Awards

The second edition of this worldwide awards program rewarded best practices not only from well recognized leaders but also hidden champions, less known innovators and their outstanding performance that has been achieved with small budgets or in difficult environments.

The 2014 Awards resulted in 87 applications from more than 40 cities. Submissions were well spread across the ten Awards categories and came from cities all over the world.

2013 Awards

The inaugural City Climate Leadership Awards Ceremony was held at the Crystal in London on September 4-5, 2013 and featured C40 Chair and New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, London Mayor Boris Johnson, and CEO of Siemens Infrastructure and Cities Sector Roland Busch.

The City Climate Leadership Awards Conference, also held on September 5, 2013, brought cities together to share best practices recognized through the Awards in a workshop environment.